PSM INDIA initiative rewards 4 pharmacists on WORLD PHARMACIST DAY , 25th September,2014!!!

PSM INDIA initiative rewards 4 pharmacists on WORLD PHARMACIST DAY , 25th September,2014!!!

Historically, the fundamental role of pharmacists as a healthcare practitioner was to check and distribute drugs to doctors for medication that had been prescribed to patients. In more modern times, pharmacists advise patients and health care providers on the selection, dosages, interactions, and side effects of medications, and act as a learned intermediary between a prescriber and a patient. Pharmacists monitor the health and progress of patients to ensure the safe and effective use of medication.

Pharmacists are often the first point-of-contact for patients with health inquiries. Thus pharmacists have a significant role in assessing medication management in patients, and in referring patients to physicians.

As an acknowledgement to the efforts of dedicated and honest pharmacists across the nation, PSM India wished to recognize a pharmacist who has contributed invaluably to the cause of SAFE MEDICINES and SAFE MEDICATION. Seeing the overwhelming response to the competition conducted Pan India by PSM India and reading through the documents and contributions shared by the innumerable pharmacists who have outstandingly served society, it was highly challenging to shortlist just one pharmacist across India. The Board of Jury of PARTNERSHIP for SAFE MEDICINES INDIA has thus decided to acknowledge the following

Paramathma Chilukuri, Nalgonda
Ratnadeep Kurtarkar, Goa
Mahadev Patel, Mulund
Deepak Barai, Thane

The award winners were recognised by a trophy, certificate and a cheque reward at PSM INDIA's 2nd International conference held at Haridwar on 7th November,2014 on Patient Safety and Access to Quality Healthcare.


Pictures of the event at Haridwar on 7th Nov,2014…..


Pictures from left to right : Mr.Keshav Desiraju ,IAS, Secretary to the Govt. Of india, ministry of Consumer Affairs,hands over the awards to pharmacist winners Mr.Deepak Barai , Mr.Mahadev Patel, Mr.Paramathama Chilukuri and Mr.Ratnadeep Kurtarkar


*kindly note: all award winners have voluntarily declared that they adopt the code of good pharmacy practices and adhere by all the provisions of all the existing laws of our country relating to their business. On receipt of the same voluntary declaration duly signed and dated by the awardees, were they eligible to be recognized as award winners .